Many or few registers in a database?

henrik_ahlgren

This topic is 8085 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hallo

I’m a newbie to FM but have worked with other databases earlier. I have reed a lot of the discussions in this forum and think portals may be a solution to my problem but I need a little more information (help). I’m administrator to a database on a FM 5.5 Server with about 15 to 20 users on Mac and PC with FM Pro 5.0.

I will store a few thousands persons where every person may have taken up to a hundred different tests. Each test can be taken more than once by each person. Every test will have a first layout with information about the person and when the test has been taken. A second layout will contain the whole test.

Which is the best way to build this database?

I’m working with a database today that consists of about ten different registers there each register contains a number of tests. Each test is then displayed as a layout. The problem with this is that they didn’t think of that a person could do the same test more then once when they built it. Is it possible to solve this problem in the existing database?

Thank's in advance.

By "register," do you mean ,"file"? It's fine to have the tests broken up into separate files, but it's most important to separate the persons file from the tests file (or files).

Each person should have a unique ID -- this is typically done with an auto-enter serial number. Then, each test the person takes is assigned the person's ID. Then you define a Relationship by that ID field, and you can display your tests in portals in the person file.