Newbie question - invoicing system

peoplayer

This topic is 8078 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

This is probably a stupid question, but I'm a beginner trying to get the hang of Filemaker - hoping to get some help from you experts. I want to construct an inventory/invoicing system consisting of the following databases:

Products (basically a static file with all articles that I can sell - they have a part number and a unique serial number)

Clients (the clients that I sell these articles to)

Inventory (a live database of the articles I presently have at home)

Invoicing (the sales that I make - articles are pulled from Inventory to this one and an invoice is printed)

The problem I have is with the invoicing part. I have been able to show only the products I have in my inventory, and to choose between serial numbers in the case I have more than one product with the same part number. What I haven't been able to do is - like many of the downloadable examples - to make a list of several products to sell on the same page. I want for instance to be able to sell 10 different products on the same invoice. The examples I've downloaded all have this fancy portal system (I think?) where as soon as one product is added to the invoice, a new line is added to the invoice for adding another product. I don't know if I make myself clear, but it all comes down to the ability of adding several products to the same invoice - and to do it in an efficient and easy to use way. How should I do it? Any help would be appreciated. I can gladly send you my files to show you what I've done. Pls. send email to [email protected], since I don't check into this site very often. Thanks in advance!