Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Transfering found sets between files

This topic is 5358 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I'm new to SM and wondering the best way to transfer a found set. In a single file solution I'd use GTRR but that doesn't work in a multifile solution.

Simple scenario. In 1.fp7 I have the found set but the report is produced in 2.fp7. However, when I run the script in 2.fp7 to generate the report, and the report is based on the same table in 1.fp7 in which the found set is based, what shows up in the report are all the records and not the found set.

I know that I'm missing something basic here and appreciate the time you take to enlighten me.

Thanks,

W

But the transfer doesn't sound too healthy to me, weren't the issue to compare the found set against the lot? Reporting using several tables in the same report is making it even more tricky.

You could however be in a separation model environment...

http://www.kevinfrank.com/download/2009/shadow-reporting.zip

--sd

• 2 weeks later...

LaRetta and Soren,

Thank you for responding to my post. Your answers helped me understand what I was missing. I hope when I get to be more knowledgeable of FMP that I'll be as generous with my time as you have been and help novices like me.

Sincerely -

Will

OK so this is embarassing. Earlier today I thought I was able to transfer a found set from 1.fp7 to 2.fp7 but then I realized I was not.

I have spent more hours that I'd like to admit trying do what LaRetta suggested. I can certainly create a TO in 1.fp7 that points to a file in 2.fp7. However, when I use GTRR I can't access a layout in the 2.fp7 that works.