Server Maintenance This Week. ×

FMPro Server 3 in Classic with VPN

This topic is 5283 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I'm entering this as a newbie here and from the looks of other topics, pushing the boundaries - but backwards!

I'm also having to pick up an existing situation and make it work in new circumstances - if I can find a way. So I'm looking for any advice I can find, on a legacy setup that we have been running for many successful years as a multi platform installation.

We are a small design business using a custom FM database for the last 15 or more years. Up until recently that has been on a G3 running OS8.5 and then 9.22. But now we have decentralised and need to run multi-site. So we have aimed at VPN as an interconnect solution. Since I believe pre OSX cannot support VPN, I sourced and setup a G5 as an FM server, as this was the last machine capable of supporting Classic apps - which our old FMPro version is.

With some advice from other sources, I've been successful in organising FMServer to run like this and despite grim warnings of using Classic in any kind of server environment, it has proved to be quite stable and reasonably quick for our purposes.

So far I have it running successfully on an internal LAN and serving to WinXP, MacOS 9.22 and MacOS10.4.11/Classic 9.22 clients, all using FMPro4/4.1.

I've also managed to configure a VPN Server onto our Draytek router and successfully enabled connection to that by our remote sites.

But FM use has been found to be limited to WinXP users only so far.

MacOS 10.4.11 users running FMPro4/4.1 in Classic 9.22 have not been able to access the Database via any settings we have tried yet.

When attempting to open it via Hosts, a single blank window comes up, not the normal twin window offering local and specify server options, which we normally see in WinXP or MacOS.