Development Platform: Mac/Windows

stanley

This topic is 5086 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

All:

I am an in-house developer and am building a case to argue that the development team should be working on the Mac. All of our users are on Windows XP laptops, and all the development is currently done on the same IT Department standard issue laptops. It is no surprise that these machines have proven insufficient for development purposes. They are invaluable for testing (as well as being sufficient for travel, meetings, etc.) but don't have the power or stability to be used as development boxes, even with docks, external monitors and the like.

And sure, most of the developers on the team prefer the Mac (inluding yours truly), but I have to make a business argument for the switch. In the corporate IT world, this is not simple.

I'm looking for input (pro or con, I'll take anything) of any sort: anecdotal, technical, tech specs, whatever, to help me make my case. I've been working on both platforms pretty much since they were invented, so I am extremely conversant in the differences; I'm hoping that you Forums members might share some personal/professional insights from a FileMaker development perspective.

I don't want to start a Mac vs. Windows flame war. If your opinion is that we should stick to XP but use workstations, then please let me hear it. But I'd rather hear why we should be working on the Mac.

Thanks,

Stanley

Hi Stanley.

If most of your users are on Windows, then I think that you should stick to Windows for development of their solution as well.

Just my 2 cents. :

Hi John: