SuperContainer for Dummies

This topic is 4827 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I have some very rudimentary questions about SuperContainer.

I hope someone will be patient enough to answer them.

I am not real conversant about computers in general. I make my living as a cabinetmaker. I dabble in filemaker

I presently communicate remotely with my shop via shared space on a webserver.

I pay an organization $80 per month and they allow me to upload databases onto their serve.

I store PDF drawings and jpegs in container fields in the databases and the guys in the shop print their drawings from these PDFs.

These PDFs and jpegs are currently embedded in the container field. I have to be careful to not let the file get too big

because the database gets unstable or goes takes forever to download.

I would like to be able to keep all of my files always on the database so there is just one place to go to find or retrieve archived drawings.

I am thinking I could do this if the data in the container field was stored as a reference file instead of embedded directly.

SuperContainer seems like the solution for me but I don't know what is needed from here.

Can somebody list the basic ingredients to accomplish this?

MY QUESTIONS:

1) Where does SuperContainer reside?

2) Do I need a dedicated computer to host Supercontainer or can I just park it on a client station at my shop?

3) Do I need to have a Filemaker Server license in addition to SuperContainer?

4) Can I subdivide folders within SuperContainer?

5) Does SuperContainer keep track of filepaths for the referenced documents? i.e. if I move them from folder to folder can I still point to them?

6) How does this concept of thumbnails work? Am I just downloading pictures of files or am I accessing the stored file itself?

7) Do I need to have advanced programming skills to make this all happen?

1) Where does SuperContainer reside?