Auto Populate Fields based on Value List selection

Lillian

This topic is 4835 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi all,

I am relatively new to filemaker, and would really appreciate some help!

In searching the net, I came across a topic here which replicates the functionality I want, but I have no idea how come it works for them and when I try, not for me.

(located here: http://fmforums.com/forum/topic/74977-value-list-auto-complete-with-calculation-field/)

I'm trying to have a field "Company Name" where I choose a value from a drop down list, and then right underneath it, the "Office Name" will automatically update.

They are situated in two tables (Company and Office, respectively) and are related by an ID.

I don't know what I'm doing wrong, any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance

I'm trying to have a field "Company Name" where I choose a value from a drop down list, and then right underneath it, the "Office Name" will automatically update.

They are situated in two tables (Company and Office, respectively) and are related by an ID.

Related by an ID of what? Does one company have many offices, or is it the other way round?

Related by an ID of what? Does one company have many offices, or is it the other way round?

A company can have many offices, in different locations, and the like.

if it's easier for you to just explain how this file from the post linked in my first post, I'd really love that

I'll attach the kind of thing I just don't understand how it works. I guess ignore the visible/invisible thing, the old post had something going on with that I don't need and I don't think affects the functions I'm concerned with.

Also I don't know how the portal comes into all this (there's a portal where the full name is sitting)

Thanks

-Lil

FindVL-2 in Portal Copy.zip