Copying from multiple fields and pasting to a new record in a new table

This topic is 4827 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi, I really need your help.

I am very new to filemaker and no programming experience. I just want to make a history page i.e. I want to copy the current value from 2 fields in a record and save it somewhere (into a new related table) with a click of a button, before changing/updating their value.

it's like, if i click that button, it will copy from Table1(field1 and field2) and create new record at Table2, paste to field1b and field2b.

I am using filemaker 11 by the way..

I hope you all understand what I mean. I know this should be easy for you guys.. :)

Thanks

Hi, I really need your help.

I am very new to filemaker and no programming experience. I just want to make a history page i.e. I want to copy the current value from 2 fields in a record and save it somewhere (into a new related table) with a click of a button, before changing/updating their value.

it's like, if i click that button, it will copy from Table1(field1 and field2) and create new record at Table2, paste to field1b and field2b.

I am using filemaker 11 by the way..

I hope you all understand what I mean. I know this should be easy for you guys.. :)

Thanks

There are lots of ways of doing this. This is one way.

1. Make sure that table #1 has a prime key ie a unique identifier (PrimeKey). Have table #2 have a matching key (Table1Match). Relate back to table#1 from table #2 using these keys.

2. Have HistoricField1 and Historicfield2 in the Table 2. In the field definitions, have them autoenter a lookup value of the related values in table #1.

3. script:

Go to layout table 1

Copy PrimeKey

Go to layout Table 2

Create New record

Paste PrimeKey into Table1Match

Commit record

Go back to original layout

The autoenter by lookup should populate these fields in table #2