Script for a popup reminder for payment due

This topic is 4802 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi, I am a novice in scriptmaking. I have a DB where I keep records of students for a Karateschool. I have a field named 'contribution' (date field) and a 'payment due' field (calculation field). This calculation shows me the message: 'payment due' when the date in the contribution field is one year old. This allows me to generate a report. But now I want to create a script for a popup reminder for each day a payment is due. Many thanks! Regards.

When faced with this need, I usually bring the message to the Main Main layout. You could have a button that turns Green (using condtl formatting) if there are any payments due. If you want, you could also display a count of records with a payment due. User clicks the button and the script finds all payments due and shows the list.

• Newbies

When faced with this need, I usually bring the message to the Main Main layout. You could have a button that turns Green (using condtl formatting) if there are any payments due. If you want, you could also display a count of records with a payment due. User clicks the button and the script finds all payments due and shows the list.

Thanks for your reply. Could you please elaborate a little more specific on how this is done?

Not sure what part you don't understand.

Main Menu is a layout based on a one record table (I usually call this table SYS). SYS would have a calc field PaymentsDue = sum (cartesian relationship::flag_PaymentDue).

flag_Payment due is a calc in the table you mention above, just like the one you use for your message. However, I'd simply have it be a boolean, that is flag=1 when a payment is due.

Back to Main Menu. Conditionally format the Payments Due button to turn green if SYS::PaymentsDue>0. Also, have this button nav to the table and find only the records where flag_Payment due =1 (you could use go to related records).