Basic Menu & Database Setup

This topic is 4774 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I am new to FM and I have been reading tutorials and trying to learn how to build a database. I understand databases and the general workings of FileMaker, but I have a few questions.

Attached is an image of the very basic layout that I am trying to create. I want to be able to organize all my clients, and to be able to access the different groupings of clients from a navigation menu. What I do not understand is how to create this menu. As I understand it I will need to create a different layout for 'Active Clients', 'Potential New Clients', 'Archived Clients', 'Wholesale Clients', and 'Media Contacts'. These layouts will display only records that fit that client status. What I do not understand is how to create the menu to display the different layout. In short, when you click 'Active Clients' menu button, the active clients layout is displayed, showing only those records.

Am I going about this correct? I have created one table, with all the records, and the client status is an attribute. Is this how you would do this? Or create a table for each client type? How can I create that navigation menu like I have on my example image I have attached?

Finally, does anyone know how I can have a record's status be changed from 'Active' to 'Archived' from a checkbox? So if we finish working with a client, and they are no longer an active project we can click the checkbox, and their record now displays only in the 'Archived' display.

Thank you so much for your help, it is greatly appreciated!

BasicLayout.jpg

As I understand it I will need to create a different layout for 'Active Clients', 'Potential New Clients', 'Archived Clients', 'Wholesale Clients', and 'Media Contacts'.