Need advice of number of tables in database

This topic is 4745 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I hope this is in the right forum.

I'm working from the Contact Management template (FM 11 pro adv). I'm new to FM and I'm unsure as to how many tables I need. Reading "The missing manual" and the actual manual hasn't helped either...

This is what I need:

Contacts, searchable by, for example:

- expertise

- type (ex: scientist, funder etc.)

- task force membership

- publications

- funding area

- type of service provided

- speaker at a certain conference

etc.

For example, someone might want to find all contacts who are hydrogeologists in Spain and spoke at a specific conference.

Or, all contacts who provide printing services in London.

I've thought about it both from the query-side and the data-entry side, and can't decide how to set it up.

Do I create separate tables for publications, expertise etc. or do I just create fields in the contact table?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

If a contact can have one and only one expertise, then make it a field. If they can have more than one, it needs to be a related table.

Rinse and repeat for all other entities.

[Cue for somebody else to suggest the entity-attribute-value model.]

• Newbies

Thanks!

Is that a general rule (one attribute per contact)? What about when people have more than one phone number or more than one address...?

I'm sorry if these are dumb questions, I just need to figure out the general principles for working with FM.

Is that a general rule (one attribute per contact)?

The general rule is one instance of a specific attribute per record.