Overview of grades per student

This topic is 4741 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I'm building what I have been told is a complex course management system.

I originally built the whole thing in Apple Numbers about 2 years ago and managed to cut my workload and that of others significantly by doing so. I am rebuilding it in FileMaker because it got seriously out of control, plus there are a lot of things that are obviously difficult to achieve in even a Numbers spreadsheet. I am also planning for this to eventually be accessible on iPhone.

I'm completely new to databases and Filemaker, but I've picked up enough to get me started, but now I could use some help, not sure if this is the right forum for the problem I'm having, so apologies for that.

At this stage I am trying to create the first most basic part of the Grading system, each student is assessed against 18 units and can have multiple assessments per unit and each unit is comprised of anywhere between 6 and 18 criteria.

I have Units working and I have assessments working, but I've hit my limit at making an overview of the grades for each student. I basically want a display of units against criteria that displays a tick if a criteria has an entry or a cross if it has not.

I've attached a picture, hopefully that will help explain what I need help with, many thanks in advance!

gradebook-help-01.gif

About your data structure:

each unit is comprised of anywhere between 6 and 18 criteria.

I don't see a table of Criteria. Is each assessment is against a specific criteria of the unit? If so, your graph should look like:

Students -< Assessments >- Criteria >- Units

I'll say more about displaying your data after I understand why your picture shows 11 columns. In general, Filemaker is a database, and unlike a spreadsheet it's not flexible in the horizontal direction. Building a grid display for data, such as a crosstab, is not exactly trivial.

• Newbies