Server Maintenance This Week. ×

FM 11 03 runtime weirdness

This topic is 4749 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I am running OSX 10.6.7 using Parallels with Vista. (FM 11.03 Advanced)

When I produce a run-time application in Windows, I get some weird things that don't seem to happen in OSX:

1) The "X" close button in the upper right corner of FM windows is inactive. I get around it by putting "CLOSE" buttons on each windows but I don't think it is supposed to be this way. Or, is it?

2) My application consists of a membership.fp7 file and a calendar.fp7 file. I specify BOTH .fp7 files in producing the run-time but when I run the .exe and click "Calendar" the RT can't find calendar.fp7. It then gives a file find dialog. If I click on the Calendar.uSR file it works. Huh?

Question, "Why can't FM include the Calendar.fp7 as a run-time USR file?"

Sorry of this is real elementary. This is my first time producing a run-time for Windows.

Thanks

The "X" close button in the upper right corner of FM windows is inactive.

Your surprise at this indicates that you aren't familiar with the differences/limitations of the runtime engine. It's not the same as the FMP client.

Your surprise at this indicates that you aren't familiar with the differences/limitations of the runtime engine. It's not the same as the FMP client.

When I run the SAME runtime database in OSX, THE "X" will close the active window. It does NOT do this in Windows.

Setting aside my 'familiarity' with the runtime engine, my point is that THERE APPEARS TO BE A DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THE MAC and Windows versions of the same application.

So, since FM promotes the runtime engine as working in OSX and Windows I read that to be that a given application would run the same in either. Since this is NOT the case, it begs the question "Are there other differences? If so, where can I find information on what they are?"

Am I (despite my lack of 'familiarity') being clear?