Excel File into Multiple Tables and Setting Master Address

This topic is 4720 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello!

Thanks for the help last week structuring my file, I'm now importing data (about 5,000 contacts from an Excel file) and have run into a couple complications, mainly relating to the fact that I can't figure out how to import one excel file into multiple tables. I'll start from scratch explaining the setup, bear with me here!

I'm new to FM and have been building on FileMaker's Contact Management Starter Solution to suit my company's needs. Among extra fields here and there, the main two features I've added are:

CODES

We will be giving each contact multiple codes according to their field of work (for example entertainment, media, art, etc.). I've created a Codes table and linked it via a many-to-many relationship to K_ID_Contact, the codes assignments are stored in a join table called Code Assignments. There is a portal on the main contact layout to enter codes. Most of the contacts I will be importing are not already coded, there are a few hundred exceptions that have one code. In the Excel file I need to import, there are columns for "Code 1," Code 2," Code 3," etc. - how can I import these into the Code Assignments table?

MASTER ADDRESS