Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Help Appreciated-Back/Forward Buttons

This topic is 4724 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I'm new to FileMaker. My version is FileMaker Pro 8.5. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I have surfed through various forums and nothing has helped.

Question: How do I make back/forward buttons? I've read about them with "backmagic" and "seedcode" but they were complicated to understand and didn't work for me.

Details: I'm using "Lending Library" as a starter template and reworking for cataloging artwork. Please be detailed and specific with instructions. I know nothing about scripts so if they are involved, it would be great if someone could provide step by step instructions. Below are some thumbnails:

Back/Forward Buttons

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/692/backfwd.png/

Asset Form View

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/864/assetformview.png/

Asset List View

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/854/assetlistview.png/

How do I make back/forward buttons? I've read about them with "backmagic" and "seedcode" but they were complicated to understand and didn't work for me.

Unfortunately, they ARE complicated. There is quite a bit of work involved in making it happen seamlessly. It's too much to provide step-by-step instructions.

BTW what are you implementing back/forward? IMHO they are great on web sites but not for databases. I spent a couple of days coding back/forward navigation for a solution and the users didn't use it because it didn't make sense or add value (and no, these were not ID-10T users). The solution already had buttons that navigated to the various modules of the system (contacts, accounts etc) and they understood these well. However the back/forward buttons kind-of did the same thing, except randomly because the users didn't mentally track their navigation through the database like they would in a web site.