Server Maintenance This Week. ×

A question for all you FMpro consultants about consulting...

This topic is 8331 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Sorry, this isn't a scripting question, but I couldn't find a "chat" forum where I could post this. This is my story: I have a BS in biology, with intermediate computer skills. I have been working for a small bio-tech company during my senior year in College as a DB intern. They hired me on to do a complete redo of their DB. I taught myself FMpro, and worked for them at $11 an hour. Because they were a small company, they couldn't offer me a full time job after I graduated, so I am no longer working there. But recently, they called and want me to do some "DB consulting for them". Their DB has more work to be done. I have about 6 months of FMpro experience, but I feel I'm at an intermediate skill level. What do you guys think is fair for me to request as an hourly rate? What do you charge? Thanks!

quote:

Originally posted by GMOcreator:

Sorry, this isn't a scripting question, but I couldn't find a "chat" forum where I could post this.

I moved this to the "Making a Living" forum, where this is a perfectly appropriate topic.

quote:

This is my story: I have a BS in biology, with intermediate computer skills. I have been working for a small bio-tech company during my senior year in College as a DB intern. They hired me on to do a complete redo of their DB. I taught myself FMpro, and worked for them at $11 an hour. Because they were a small company, they couldn't offer me a full time job after I graduated, so I am no longer working there. But recently, they called and want me to do some "DB consulting for them". Their DB has more work to be done. I have about 6 months of FMpro experience, but I feel I'm at an intermediate skill level. What do you guys think is fair for me to request as an hourly rate? What do you charge? Thanks!