Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Magnetic Card Reader

This topic is 8185 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi!

My first ever forum question anywhere!!!!

I run a members club for kids and am using filemaker pro to list the members info. What started as a hobby looking after 100 kids has now grown into someting I can't control (2000 members)!!!

The kids have membership cards (currently produced in Illustrator) but I'd like to produce cards with a magnetic strip so I can record their visits to the club and check their membership status etc. Also I'd like to just hit print from Filemaker and have the card produced.

I'm totally new to all of this so any help on how to build such a system from scratch would be very VERY much appreciated. I know I need a card reader and printer but no idea how to put the info onto a card or get it back in to filemaker. Phewww! h eeee lp please!

If I was doing a low end application, I would use barcodes on the membership card instead of a magnetic stripe. This way you could turn the cards into name badges or such and produce them with appropriate card stock and a simple laminator instead of purchasing cards printed to order (expensive). Barcode scanning is simple to implement in FM without plug-ins (you will need a barcode font). Scanning also tends to be more immune to wear and tear than magnetic stripes. The only reason to use magnetic strips is to provide more security in cases where forgery of a card is a potential problem. Costco uses are barcode for customer checkstand identification, but uses the magnetic stripe for account billing.

-bd

• Newbies

Thx for the idea for using bar codes, I had looked at that, and indeed my Costco card does use a bar code. I'm mac based but feel that all this stuff will be cheaper on a pc - is that the case ? (apart from the computer itself!)