Display multiple records in a Portal

lansdowne

This topic is 3695 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I am a novice learning Filemaker.I have a database for Horse racing(attached) and have come to a halt at 2 problems.

1.) In the Horse Layout I want to be able to type the Horse name in the box and have their past performances displayed in the Portal.

The second is a bit too advanced I feel for me at the moment as I think it requires some scripting. In the daily races I would like the last 3 runs of each horse displayed in a Portal as shown in the word document attached. I don't know whether this is possible and would appreciate any assistance.

many thanks

Davey H

RATEFORM.zip

I don't see a "Daily Races" layout or table in your solution.  Are you going to add that?  Will this indicate, of the hundreds of horses, for which ones you want to list the last three races?  I agree, it will take a bit of scripting to get what you want.  One way to think about it is: How would you do it manually without a script?  You would probably create a check box field, search for the horses of interest, and then check off the three most recent raises.  You would then limit your found set to those horses with check marks.  A script following the same logic should work fine.  

You could view these in a List View or Table View style of layout, but a related table with a portal would also work, if you use the check box as one of the match criterial in the relationship graph. 

Many thanks for your reply Matthew.

I apologise for my misleading post. The "daily runners" are in the Decs(Declarations) table. Each race Has primary keys etc and the race time and runners. Perhaps that is not the correct way to store them?