Update a record FM <> ODBC<>MySQL(remote)

This topic is 3160 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello, I am Very Very New to this so please be gentle.

I have a MySQL Database on a hosted server. I can connect to it via PHPMyAdmin and I can run very basic SQL Select * From where etc. I have managed to update records in that Db via the PHPMyAdmin. I can create new records and run local scripts to make bulk changes all via the PHPMyAdmin.

I have managed to get a FM13Pro connection to the said Db using ACTUAL ODBC. I have created a copy of the table that I am interested in and all of the data is replicated on my MAC in FM.

The question now though is: How can I change data in the FM Db that will be passed to the remote MySQL database.

So if I update a record locally(FM) it then updates the record remotely(MySQL).

I hope that makes sense. And thanks in advance or any help.

Well, you'll have to script that.  You have a couple of options:

- it sounds like you have the MySQL table available inside your FM solution through ESS.  With that you can switch to a layout based on that ESS TO, do a find and update the record with the values from your real FM record

- you can also use the ODBC connection to use the "execute SQL" script step (not the ExecuteSQL() function) to do an UPDATE call to your MySQL table.  The benefit of this approach is that you do not have to switch context in your FM solution (go to the ESS layout)

Hello thanks for the help.

So far so good. I have updated to FMPro14.

I have re done my first Db and have a copy of 2800 records in FM from the MySQL Db.

I have A complete set of Fields on my first Table which I can view as Form List or Table. That all makes sense.

Following the clues you have left I am now trying to make a change in a single field of a single record and have that replicated back to the MySQL Db.

I'll let you know how I get on.

Have a great day.

Stephen