Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Sub-records?

zenmom

This topic is 2637 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Dear Collective Wisdom,

Hi, semi-novice here! I might have asked this question a couple years ago, but if I did I couldn't find it in the archives. 

I'm using FM Pro 12, on an iMac OS v10.12.2 aka Sierra. (I know I'm behind the times, am planning to catch up to FM Pro 15 soon. But for now, v12 it is.) 

So. I'm setting up a database to track expenses. My first bash at fields is shown in the attached screenshot. (I may prune out a couple of the fields near the bottom of the list.) The db currently has 3 records, to wit: "banjo maintenance", "Revere Ware copper-bottom pot", and "FileMaker Pro upgrade", each with appropriate info in some of the other fields. 

The problem is, "banjo maintenance" actually consists of several different things, for example "new banjo head", "strings", and "banjo case". I'd like each of these to have their own sub-records (or whatever structure /format /thing that would consist of). Each of the sub-items might have different dates associated with them (and of course different prices). And if it's set up so that "banjo maintenance" has sub-entries, then it would make sense that "Revere Ware copper-bottom pot" would have to be structured with a sub-entry too, even it if there were only one. 

I'm comfortable with simple relational db's that involve more than one table, and with joining those tables, sometimes through an intermediary join table, but I'm at a loss for how to build the sort of thing I'm asking about here. I suppose it'd be something like an invoice, with a separate line for each item purchased? One of my passing thoughts was a separate table for each record that requires sub-entries, but that doesn't make any sense at all to me, especially once you start scaling it up.