Too many calculations!

Aleesha

This topic is 2452 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello everyone,

This is my first time asking for help on a board, so please be patient! I am self taught in Filemaker so far, creating field data collection solutions for use in Filemaker Go on ios. 

I am currently creating a new database and data collection form. Both are still in the early stages of development, and I am open to going about this in an entirely different way. Let's get started. 

I have two tables: One is the "People Management (PM)" and one is the Activity Management (AM)".

In PM, each row is an individual who is tied to the organization, either as a volunteer, a member, donor, etc. These individuals can attend events, and we would like to know an individual's history of events attended. 

In AM, each row is an activity. Details of the activity, such as the location, start and end times, staff in attendance, total number of participants, etc, are stored for reporting to the funders. The names of the individuals in attendance is not necessary here.

In AM data collection form, each activity will autogenerate an ActivityID# (01, 02, 03...). I would like to show up at an event and fill out this form. I imagine selecting people in attendance from a drop down list, generated by the PM table. I am capable of creating all of this just fine, up to this next point: the ActivityID from this form is, in turn, automatically placed in that participant's list of attended events. 

My question is: How do I achieve this last step? I imagine needing multiple columns for each individual in PM

First Name | Last Name | ActivityID_1 | ActivityID_2 | ActivityID_3 ....

How would I tell Filemaker to find the next empty column in the ActivityID series and fill in the ActivityID from that form I am working in? Is this possible via relationships and scripts? Is there a better way to go about this?