MSPJ

File Access Protection and Import

Hi - I'm developing a business solution to be hosted on FM Server.  It will be hosted on Soliant Cloud.  This is my first time developing for Server.  I read Steven and Wim's whitepaper on FM 16 security, which was very helpful.

In the past, when I've created upgrades to my solution, I've imported data from the previous version into the new one. Each update is a modified version of the previous file. 

I read about the benefits of using File Access Protection. My solution is a single file solution so I can basically exclude any other file having access - except I'm not sure what impact that will have on import from previous versions.  I assume both files will have the same ID - but not sure if that means that FM will see the older version as trusted or not. 

Thanks!

File Access controls access to the schema. It won't stop you from importing data -- which you need an authorized account to do anyway.

Thanks Fitch!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

• Similar Content

• By Pavlk
      I've attached two files. The first one is INVOICE, that is generated by every establishment when you purchase, and is in xml format.
      The second one is XSLT file, that is provided by government fiscal institution and is used to "translate" xml.
      PROBLEM DESCRIPTION: when I try to decode xml using attached xslt scheme on any online xml-converter website the output looks fine. BUT when importing to Filemaker, I receive an error: "XML parsing error: invalid document structure".

I would appreciate any help with the issue. Thanks.
      XML input.xml
      XSLT scheme.xslt
    • By cbum