database online

This topic is 8201 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I am a school teacher that would like to make report cards (the processof writing them) available online to teachers. I am currently using Filemaker 5.0 and waiting impatiently for the release of 5.5 which will allow for record specific security. In the meantime, I am setting up passwords and estblishing group access to specific layouts and fields. However, this is obviously sensitive material. I have read that the database should not sit in the web folder. I just installed the client on the machine and dragged the documentinto the web folder of by server hosting the web site is that dangerous? (to see it i opened port 591 on the firewall) Assuming the passwords stay secure.

And if so any suggestions as to where it should reside?

Should all the databases be on a different machine?

I have some concerns and want this deployment to be successful to make the teachers lives easier and mine.

Lastly, writing report cards for teachers here is like finals week in college, teachers are writing them at the last minute, so we could upwards of 75 teachers hitting the database at once, any words of wisdom?

FMP 5.5 is out and available. so stop waiting impatiently and jump into action! The questions for you are: 1. Are you using the web companion plug-in OR the TCP remote access plugin?...2. Are you using a FMP hosting service, or are you hosting yourself?

Using the TCP remote access plug in allows the exact layout to be printed as designed, the web companion is an html based display and prints the layouts differently than designed. Access is not a problem with either, however, if you want security, the passwords help. AND by using the TCP remote access, you can control the security by giving the IP address to only those who need access...