How to reference another open database with BE_FileMakerSQL command

This topic is 1642 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi, I'm new to FileMaker scripting, and trying to basically select all data from another database created with a 3rd party application which is itself made with FileMaker. This means Script Workspace is disabled in that database.

So I can open an .fmp12 file from that database with script in blank FileMaker file:

Open File [Open hidden:Off; "Provenance"]

And the following line works fine to get FileMaker tables from my blank database:

Set Variable [$sql_test; Value: BE_FileMakerSQL ( "SELECT * From FileMaker_Tables" ) ]

Using the DatabaseNames function, I get following as names of the open databases:

TestScript (the one I'm running the script from)

Provenance
Inventory

Then I'm trying to get the same table, for testing, from the Provenance file's database, but cannot figure out how to reference it. I tried:

Set Variable [$sql_test; Value: BE_FileMakerSQL ( "SELECT * From FileMaker_Tables" {;;; "Provenance"})]

But then "Specify Calculation" dialogue window says "The specified table cannot be found" and won't accept this.

To query the tables names in database "Provenance", I used:

Set Variable [$tables; Value: TableNames ( "Provenance")]

which gives me:
Inventory
Provenance
Settings

This gets specified tables cannot be found also:

Set Variable [$sql_test; Value: BE_FileMakerSQL ( "SELECT * From FileMaker_Tables" {;;; Provenance })]

As does:

BE_FileMakerSQL ( "SELECT * From Inventory" {;;; "Provenance"} )

Any suggestions / advice how to reference external .fmp12 databases and Tables would be very grateful, thanks!

Will