Reset Portal Fields when creating a new Record Entry

This topic is 1520 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi All! 

I have been playing around with Filemaker 18 and have run into an issue that I am currently unable to resolve. I hope I don't confuse everyone with my query. FYI - I am not a developer and don't have a coding background. I have taught myself essentially everything I know by watching videos and reading forums and filemaker Help.

I am working on creating a record of an interaction with a client. There is a way to create an appointment for the interaction and then that takes you the layout for documenting the conversation. The layout has multiple fields each of which link to their own tables. 

When I click on Topics discussed, this will launch a new window with a layout displaying portal records from table named Topics. This Table is essentially a library because the same list of topics and subtopics, associated records, need to appear for each new/unique interaction. Here, I was able to write a script which essentially stores my selections in a global field and then moves them over to an interaction table - Member_Topics. Each portal row will trigger the script and a new record will be created in the Member_Topics. This is how I want it to work. I am doing it this way, so I can append the record later if needed. 

The issue now is that when I go to a new appointment and go the Topics Layout - I see the values that were previously selected. I know this is happening because when I am making selections I am modifying the Library Table directly. I would like to know if there is a way to reset these fields when I am starting a new appointment. 

What I mean by resetting on new appointment: