using find (?) in a Calculation?

This topic is 1399 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello, I am pretty new to FM and dealing with Calculation fields so bear with me for the flat-out ignorance that follows.

I would like to have a Calculation field in Table1 that conculcates data from a field in related Table2 but only if a condition in another field in Table2 is matched. Here is a vastly simplified example:

Table2 (where the data is stored) has COUNTRY and STATE fields, with each STATE being a new Record. 

In Table1 I want to have a calculation field that conculcates all of the STATE fields but only if COUNTRY = USA (thus excluding UK or France).

Currently, my calculation is  

If ( TABLE2::COUNTRY ; "USA" ; Substitute ( List ( TABLE2::STATE) ; ¶ ; "; " ) )

While this does not result in an error, it pulls in all STATE fields (so even those that are not USA) so long as there is at least one from USA. What I cannot figure out is how to limit it to just USA. Obviously an initial Find command would help solve that, but I don't seem to be able to do that.

Also, assuming that I can get STATE in properly, is there a way to sort it as well?

Thank you!

2 hours ago, Rancher said:

Currently, my calculation is  

If ( TABLE2::COUNTRY ; "USA" ; Substitute ( List ( TABLE2::STATE) ; ¶ ; "; " ) )

While this does not result in an error, it pulls in all STATE fields (so even those that are not USA) so long as there is at least one from USA.

I think you meant:

If ( TABLE2::COUNTRY = "USA" ; Substitute ( List ( TABLE2::STATE ) ; ¶ ; "; " ) )

That would list all related STATE values as long as the first related record is from USA.

To get the result you want, you need to define a calculation field in Table2 = 

If ( COUNTRY = "USA" ; STATE )

then apply the List() function in Table1 to this field.