Filemaker and Filemaker Server

Chris CBS

This topic is 1248 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Total newbie question: 

I am a registered user of Filemaker Pro 15 (from back in the day). I am about to write an application for a small organisation to maintain contacts and workshop bookings. This needs to available remotely by one, maybe two users (and me).

There is a company that offers Filemaker Server 14 shared hosting at a reasonable cost (filemaker-hosting.co.uk). So, they licence FM Server 14, I have FM Pro 15, my client needs one or two copies of FileMaker Pro 19, yes? and will that interact successfully with an application on Filemaker Server 14.

Does my plan seem feasible? Any issues here? or any other way of approaching this situation.

Many thanks for your time and help.

I would strongly argue against that version of FMP depending on the end users computer and OS updates you may not be able to even run that version of FMP. 

FileMaker Server 19 can only be accessed by 18 and 19.  FileMaker 19 cannot access FMS servers < 18.

You can buy 5 users seat for $900USD per year Since FileMaker 15 there is no longer multi-tenancy hosting.  Each customer must have their own server software, that is why FM is sold as a platform you get access to server, desktop, web direct, and FMGo. If you need a data center for hosting let me know we can set you up with one in London.

• Newbies

I'm afraid most of that went over my head, but don't worry I catch up fast. 

Ao what I want to do is make filmmaker application to be accessed by 2 users remotely and managed be myself. The FM14 hosting is around £120 a year and the other two standalone copies of FM are currently on BOGOFF at £259 for two. 

So are you saying with one 5 seat version of FM19 at £900 per year  I can do the same thing?

Plus the hosting or is that included?