Jump to content

Disable 'Edit Layout' on Layout


Recommended Posts

Posted (edited)

I am really struggling with this and feel that I must have hit a bug.

I have duplicated the Data-Entry Privilege Set (PS).  I assign my new PS to a user and login as them.  All fine, my layout appears as it should, however, I get the option to 'Edit Layout'.

So, I return to edit my PS and change the Layout access from modifiable to view only.  After logging back in, I get what looks like 'Kiosk mode' (see first image).  Whereby, I have my layout open in the centre of the screen, surrounded by a black background that fills the screen and no menu bar.

Am I missing something fundamental?

Running on FMP 19.4.2.204 on Mac Monterey (12.2.1), but I can confirm the same effect happens on Windows 10.

The nearest I get to what I need (read-only) is by choosing the 'Data Access and Design' settings shown below.  But obviously with these settings the user can still edit the layout.

image.thumb.png.34b9d99ab5d117640992005a389562d2.pngimage.thumb.png.6383d3415cca9906a4bbff6ce35f353d.png

Edited by Crawfcol
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Posted (edited)

I wasn't able to reproduce the problem using your description.

I started by duplicating the predefined [Data Entry Only] privilege set. Both the original and the copy have "All view only" selected for Layout access. That's already different from what you describe.

I then assigned the User account to this privilege set. Logging in as User I see nothing like what you describe.

FWIW, I am attaching my test file.

 

AccessTest.fmp12

Edited by comment
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Posted (edited)

It is bizarre.  It is as soon as I change the Layouts permission to 'All View Only' the problem appears.

I just tried eliminating anything that was running in advance of the Layout opening (apart from the script below in a DB OpenScript) and get exactly the same effect.  It has to be a bug.  I have sent Claris a support case and await their response.

If [ Get(AccountName) = "user" ]

Go to Layout [ “Transactions (Read-Only)” (T2_Transaction) ; Animation: None ]

Show All Records

Sort Records [ Restore ; With dialog: Off ]

Go to Record/Request/Page [ First ]

Exit Script [ Text Result:    ]

End If

BTW thanks.  I tried your test file and it doesn't have the same issue.

image.png.5b2161b7b3aede0902f268663055f989.png

Edited by Crawfcol
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Posted (edited)

Yes I have now reproduced it in a separate file

Edited by Crawfcol
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Posted (edited)

Unable to reproduce it in any file other than 2.  These files are basically copies (created some time ago), the first file I tried that experienced the problem is a copy of the first.

Looking more like a corrupt file

These files are hosted on a server and they are currently in use.  Once users are off the system, I'll take a backup and try and do a recover locally to see if it makes any difference.

Edited by Crawfcol
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Posted (edited)
37 minutes ago, Crawfcol said:

Looking more like a corrupt file

That would be my preliminary conclusion too.

Or it could be something went wrong with your server (assuming you only see the effect on hosted files).

 

Edited by comment
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.