Server Maintenance This Week. ×

help with navigation script

This topic is 656 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

using FMP for a long time, but I am a rank amateur.

I have a DB of a TV script pdf . on each page there is a page number and the individual scene numbers.

It has a page number field and a portal to put the scene numbers in text on the page. The portal is from a table that has 2 fields,

the scene numbers and the page number. the page number is used to create the relationship.

I want to create a script or calculation for when a scene number is typed in, the tv script goes to the page with that scene on it.

the steps are

1. on the script page type the scene number you want to go to

2. that input would be used to  go to the 2 field table and where the scene number matches, it would get the page number from this table

3. take that page number result and navigate to that page number in the tv script document.

if anyone could suggest what functions I need...

thanks

Ian

For the purposes of sanity, let's give your tables names, say Pages for the parent table and Scenes for the child table.

You can navigate to a Page record that is the parent of Scene X directly by performing a find. For example, a script like:

Enter Find Mode[]
Go to Layout [ Pages ]
Set Field [ Scenes::SceneNumber ; SomeTable::gSearchValue ]
Perform Find

would find the page that contains the scene number entered into a global gSearchValue field (which can be in any table).

However, this would replace your existing found set in the Pages table. If you only want to move to the target record within the current found set, you would need to loop until:

not IsEmpty ( FilterValues ( SomeTable::gSearchValue ; List ( Scenes::SceneNumber ) ) )

returns True. And of course, it would fail if the target record is not in the current found set.