INITIAL DESIGN SCHEMA SETUP QUESTION

This topic is 534 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I am a novice.  I have a File Maker project I want to develop, but am struggling with the initial schema design/setup.

I have weekly cost reporting data in excel format.  The weekly excel file is made up of 11 columns and between 500 to 3000 lines of data, the first two columns are 1) unique account code and 2) descriptive name.  Four of the columns contain updated key numerical data each week, the other 5 columns can be derived from the data in the 4 key columns.

I want to do various row calculations based on the average of the specific key column.  I want to compare the average of the specific column/row (updated each week) to a matching columns/row budget number in the current week.

I cannot work out if each weeks data should be appended to the previous weeks, with a new/identifying week number or if the weekly data should be kept in separate related tables.

Any guidance gratefully appreciated.

It is indeed difficult to understand the described situation - and even more difficult to understand what exactly is your question.

It sounds like you need to have 2 tables: a table of Accounts and a table of weekly data. You should definitely not create a separate table for each week - if that's what you mean by "if the weekly data should be kept in separate related tables.".

It's not clear if the weekly data has a column for identifying the week. If not, you will have to find a method to determine the week and add it to the imported data.

• Newbies

Thank you both for your help.  It is very much appreciated.  I am attaching a spreadsheet with sample data as well as the beginnings of a report I’d like to generate.

I realize the excel contains a lot of ideas to be implemented, but they are just there to help with understanding the design schema.

SAMPLE DATA FOR PROJECT.xlsx