Claris Engage 2025 - March 25-26 Austin Texas ×

Best solution to access container EXIF data from FM?

Posted (edited)

Hello,

I want to be able to read and write to the EXIF tag -imagedescrption in JPG files stored in a container by reference from within FM.  It looks like FM natively supports only reading the data from a few tags - like filename, make, model, ... the options in GetContainerAttribute.  I see a few plugin options - Trio, MBS (MonkeyBread), MediaManager but cant' tell easily from the documentation whether they can do this.  There are other references in this FM plugin list but many seem stale.  I've used Phil Harvey's EXIFTools some so maybe I could make use of that from within FM somehow?

Has anybody done this in a while who can lead me to the best solution.  Note that I'm a hobbyist (retired) working on a one-off solution for a nonprofit HOA.  Thus I have a limited budget, and prefer shareware or open source solutions.

Thanks so much.

Platform: Windows 11, FM 21 (2024), single machine (no Server)

Edited by BAleiHi
Add tags, add platform info

46 minutes ago, BAleiHi said:

I've used Phil Harvey's EXIFTools some so maybe I could make use of that from within FM somehow?

It appears that this is (or at least can be) a command-line tool. On macOS you should be able to run it from FMP via AppleScript. On Windows you might want to try the (free) BaseElements plugin that can perform a command line script:
https://docs.baseelementsplugin.com/article/524-beexecutesystemcommand