Server Maintenance This Week. ×

This topic is 7823 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello.

I am fairly new to Filemaker, but I am buying FMD6 in a couple of days with a view to creating solutions for a specific market.

Anyway, I wonder if anyone can recommend a good book for Filemaker Developer 6, I notice some for 5.5 are mentioned here, but do those cover version 6? is there much difference?

I am creating a multi db relational database and so would be interested in that kind of book.

thanks for any advice.

So far, I haven't seen any books specifically for FM version 6. A couple of good ones that are still applicable from version 5.x are the ones by Colombre and Price 'Special Edition using Filemaker Pro 5' and the one by Moyer and Bowers 'Advanced Filemaker Pro 5.5 Techniques for Developers.'

Since there isn't much difference between versions after 5.0, these books are still worth having. The main new things in version 6 are its folder import and XML capabilities. So, these aren't covered in the above books.

Filemaker Developer 6 is just Filemaker Pro 6 with the Script Debugger and Database Design Report functionality. Any book on Filemaker Pro 6 will basically cover Filemaker Developer 6.

The Developer Tool is a just a utility app which allows you to create runtimes, rename solutions, prevent modifications to files, etc. It does NOT contain any Filemaker functionality. There are no 3rd party books on this specifically.

Personally I have seen little or nothing in Filemaker 6 to warrant it, although Filemaker 5.5 is well worth it!

Personally I have seen little or nothing in Filemaker 6 to warrant it, although Filemaker 5.5 is well worth it!

Are you referring to FM developer 6, or regular FM 6? I thought that the new constrain and extend found set options when doing finds, are important and have been desperately needed for a long time. Although, I err, haven't actually upgraded from 5.5 myself. smile.gif