Exporting single record to text

This topic is 8281 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi,

I'm fairly new to FMP so please bear with me. We have a database that has a large amount of records linked to it. We would like to be able to export info from specific records to text. When I try exporting it now, it exports the field information for all the records. Can I have it do the fields of my choice and do only 1 record? Also, is it possible to export the field name as well as the data within the field? Thanks in advance.

- Greg

quote:

Originally posted by Gregory Firestone:

Hi,

I'm fairly new to FMP so please bear with me. We have a database that has a large amount of records linked to it. We would like to be able to export info from specific records to text. When I try exporting it now, it exports the field information for all the records. Can I have it do the fields of my choice and do only 1 record? Also, is it possible to export the field name as well as the data within the field? Thanks in advance.

- Greg

Greg, here is what to do

1. Find the record you want to import and isolate it.

I use Isolate so often I created a script and set it as the first displayed script so that I could use a Command-1 keyboard shortcut. The script is simple:

Find All

Omit

Find Omitted

Go to the record and execute the script and now only that record is in the found set.

2. When you execute the Export command, select Merge Text as the export format. This will give you the field names in the first paragraph and the field contents themselves next.

3. In the dialog box with the field selections, move the field names of what you want to the right side box. You can re-order the list of fields if you wish. Then export.