relationships, match fileds, and portals, oh my!

magnuna

This topic is 7617 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

hi all. i'm running fm pro6 on a pc with windows me. i'm also new to filmaker, so bear with me. and i'm using it to work with the data i've collected for my phd thesis, so please bear with the odd db and field names.

ok, right now i have 4 dbs: titles, monuments, family and officials. their fields are as follows:

titles - name, date, complete list, eps, hons, admin, mil, pr

monuments - name(ego), date, type, loc, desc, scenes, ind/scene, titles(of ego)/scene

family - name(ego), date, members

officials - name, date

i've entered all the data in all the fields for the titles and monuments dbs. i should also mention that a number of these officials share the same name and date range (not actual dates, but kings names). also, an official can have multiple monuments that are the same type (i.e. a tomb, 2 statues, etc.)

the first thing i'd like to do is make the members field in the familydb a lookup to the ind/scene field in the monumentdb, which i assume will require multiple match fields. however, because most officials have more than one monument, and each monument may have different family members mentioned/depicted on it, i need this lookup to pull the data from the ind/scene field for *all* monuments related to the name(ego) in question. is this possible with all monuments in one db regardless of type, or do i need a separate db for each type? and going back to the match fields required - name(ego) and date are obvious, would i need to include type as well? do i need to create auto-serial ID#s in each db instead, or join dbs? i'm trying not use a portal for this because i want to edit the way it looks.