Server Maintenance This Week. ×

General Barcode question

This topic is 7563 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hey, Im by no means a developer, or even a filemaker pro user, but I cant seem to find a decent answer to this, or a tutorial, or reference to this. ..

Im trying to find some good barcode software that will work/integrate with filemaker pro 6. Im setting up a rather huge database consisting of over 100,000 inventory items. I need a program that can set me up with a dynamic barcode generator, or a simple way to do it within filemaker pro.

The database is going to consist of comic books, so I would need a way for the barcode program to set up bar codes in a similar manner to this

for marvel comics ie.

MAR012345 only that would be a bar code

or for dc comics

DC012345

As well as somthing in the means of which Marvel comics, for instance all spiderman comics would be in the 20000's or something

spider man #1

MAR20001

We are using Code 39 as it seems to be the most standard and easy to use.

If this isnt possible, then We would atleast need the generated numbers to be consistent with out the MAR or DC or whatever we would like, so long as all the 20000's or whatever we like stay consistent.

Then if that is the case, we Need a way to print on the label which comic it is and possibly a price too. . .

If you can please respond to this thread or email me directly. . .

[email protected]

Thanks everyone

Links or anything of the nature that can help is welcome. Suggestions or ideas as well. IM up for anything at this point

Here is what my ideal barcode would look like. . . Whats the easiest/best way to acheive this:

barcodeexample.gif

barcodeexample.gif

Hi Fearless,

As far as I can see a simple labelprinter and a barcode font would be enough to get the desired result.

I would not go for a 'meaningful' barcode, but just use an sequential serialn

• Newbies

Hey,

Thanks for the input. . .