Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Newbie from MS Access97

This topic is 8562 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Best To All!

Developed db in Accsess that must now be converted (improved some may say)to FMpro5.

Not being a seasoned db veteran, I hope to find info to help me transfer concepts/terms learned in Access for application in FMpro5.

I have managed to import my tables, establish relationships, and am now learning layouts/scripts.

1)Scripts=Macros How about VBA equivalant?

2)Events equivalant?

3)I assume storing master table in same "folder" as related tables (2)equivalant to storing these 3 tables together in Access db window?

tia

yellowpike

Having done this myself, I have some opinions

Filemaker is a good product, with a friendly user interface and relatively easy style. It does not force the user to the adopted normalization standards and makes it easy to get up and running. It is fairly slack with field definitions and enforcing data integrity. As a pure windows product it does not match the microsoft offerings in terms of operating system integration and sheer grunt. But horses for courses..

1)Scripts=Macros How about VBA equivalant?

>Filemaker does not recognise events

Any scripts you want to run have to be activated by a button ( be it visible or invisible) or by another script. The scripts do not interact with the operating system particularly well, and forget about using variables. The Filemaker "Global Field" is a poor man's variable, and tends to create very bloated designs.

>There is no way of saving "code" in a module, all scripting is saved with the data. You can import scripts to other files ,but you have to recreate references and relationships which is a MASSIVE pain in the neck. ( so use a text document tostore your code). The scipts are very, very limited compared with what can be accomplished with VBA.(This is simply a reflection of the cross platform nature of the product.)