Set Field in Find Mode

This topic is 8494 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi:

I'm a novice at scripting, but so far I've been able to solve most of my problems. Here is a problem, however, that I can't figure out. I have the following simple one-line script that works correctly in browse mode:

Set Field ["Notes", "LastName"]

When I change this script to the following, however, it fails:

Enter Find Mode[]

Set Field ["Notes", "LastName"]

When I run this second script, FileMaker goes to Find Mode and the cursor is in the first field on the layout. It appears that the Set Field script step doesn't run. Does anyone know why this isn't working?

When I created the second script, I received a confusing dialog box asking me whether I want to keep or replace data needed by the script. I don't understand this dialog, but regardless of how I answer it, the second script still fails.

Thanks, Keith Silva

Set Field does work in Find Mode, but you can't reference regular fields. You can only reference constants (be they text or numbers) or global fields. This is because when you're in Find Mode you aren't in any particular record. If you try to reference a field that is specific to a record (unlike a global field) FileMaker doesn't know which data to use.

So, add a global field, which for my example, I'll call gTemp and rewrite your script as follows:

Set Field [ gTemp, Last Name ]

Enter Find Mode []

Set Field [ Notes, gTemp ]

Perform Find []