Newbie Stupid Question...about layout

This topic is 7353 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi..newbie here. I am working on a pretty ambitious project that involves manufacturing and production tracking...I will have a ton of questions to follow I'm sure...I've storyboarded a number of my database files that I will need and am currently stuck on the design portion. I have an 800x600 graphic image that I want to use as a background for my entire program. Problem is, (unlike Pagemaker, Quark, InDesign...etc..etc) there seems to be no way to "resize" the document window. I want my database to appear on the users screen (full screen mode) the same size as my background image.If the user uses a higher resolution I would like my image to appear in the same location but with a solid color background of my choosing all the way around it? Is this plausible..am I missing something basic?

You can resize the window in a number of ways using scripts - Toggle Window (Zoom) to the size of the most bottom right corner of the most bottom right object on your page, or Toggle Window (Maximise) which will fill the screen. In your case though, if you used the same layout, on a larger resoultion screen if you maximise, the image will stay in the top left corner and the rest of the layout will be the background colour you have set for your layout.

Unfortunately FM can't change object positioning on layouts on the fly, so you will have to design different layouts for each screen resolution. You would then need to include a startup script that identified the user's screen resolution (have a look in FM Help under the Status functions - Status(Current ScreenWidth) or Status(CurrentScreenHeight) and then a Go to Layout script step that takes the user to the layout you created specifically for that screen resolution.

Hope that helps.

Have fun in the forums.

Cheers, Murray