Good source for a medical dictionary?

This topic is 2481 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi All,

I'm a newbie but have fallen in love with FileMaker!! One of the hospitals in our area started using FM for EMS run reports... I wanted to enhance the system we were using (Basically a word file..) to a database. Since the hospital was using FM, I bought a copy and started in... All I can say is Wow!!

Anyway, since the application is for EMS run reports where a fair amount of medical terms and drug names are specified, I was looking for a medical dictionary to help with the spell checking. I have searched the forum and the web and have not any product that states it explicity supports FM. I was wondering if anyone could point me to a product that they know of....

Thanks,

-Don

Hi Don,

Welcome to the forum!

The dictionary does not necessarily have to "explicity support FM". As long as you can get the dictionary text into a standard text file then it's fine.

You can import a text file into the dictionaries in FileMaker.

Have a look in the help in FM under dictionary, this explains how to do it.

Hope this helps and good look with FM!

Ed

• Newbies

Thanks for the suggestions...

I actually was able to find a good word list of medical terms on the web and then I downloaded from the fda.gov.org a list of the approved drug names. After running though a script to get just a list of words I thought I was home free... But it looks like there is a limit on either the size or number of words a user dictionary can have.. arrgh... I get to 2882 words (about 32K bytes file size) and thats it. The import function won't import it and if I make the .upr myself, FM can't open it once the list exceeds about 2882 (I tried it with 2882, just fine... 3000 and I get an error)..