Creating an Inventory Database

MJG

This topic is 7335 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I am a FM novice, and am trying to create an inventory system that has three parts, Received, Inventory, and Shipped. I am not sure how to procede. I have created the three databases, but am not sure how to get the calculations to work, and how the relationships need to work. Also, I have read on some other posts that you need to use four files. Items contains one record for each item (what does that mean, and how is it done?), which I do not have, Orders (my Shipped), contains 1 record for each order, Restock (my Received), and Line Items (my Inventory), where most of the data is kept. I think I need some more clarification about how this is supposed to work. Any input would be greatly appreciated

Received Database.

This database contains a record of all deliveries. It lists quantities of each different line item. The fields are: Date, Order #, Vendor, Item #, Quantity, Manufacturer, Description, Cost, Purchased for, Category, Item total cost, Line Item Total, Shipping, Tax, Grand Total. Ideally, quantites entered here would update those listed in the Inventory Database. The Received database would allow us to look up and track where individual orders came from. We would like to add new products (one's we haven't entered into the inventory database yet) to the inventory database from here. Basically, a barcode would be scanned, or entered by hand, and the Description, Manufacturer, and Category, would be pulled from Inventory.

Inventory Database.