Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Identifying the market?

This topic is 7324 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello!

I'm a in house developer, but contemplating my own business. The main product would be a networked project management tool. It would suit teams working on larger projects with clear and mesurable goals.

My main problem is estimating the market and below is a list of questions. I don't expect to receive answers to them. I'm just curious about how You guys are tackling these issues.

-------------

How many users of FMP (per platform) are there out there (Filemaker wont answer)? Is it worth the effort to develop for multi-platforms?

In what branches are FMP a common tool. EDU is given (but not a very interesting market) ?

I guess right pricing is essential. At what price does the customer decide to develop their own solution (I'm guessing under 1/20 of dev costs)? And at what price does he demand support?

What's Your experience on developing a product line with Single-user, Multi-User and Server version with ASP/JSP connectivity? Guess this approach demands that You keep the product alive for some years?

Does the customers expect free updates?

A DB i just a tool (and not a very sexy one) for handling information. I can increase the product value by bundling it with a specific but adaptable work model. The quality of the model is exellent, but will the customers reject it in favour for their own material?

The competition is brutal these days. What's Your experience on marketing and selling via the web?

-------------

Well, a lenghty post. But there is a lot on my mind these days....

FileMaker Version: 7

Platform: Mac OS X Jaguar

Fridolin,

Based on my own situation, here is what advice I can give you.