Server Maintenance This Week. ×

scripting questionnaires for an experiment

This topic is 7322 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I'm trying to create a computerized questionnaire for subjects in my psychology experiment. Ideally, they would see uniform instructions in the header of each screen, receive each question individually, and use radio buttons to respond before pressing a button that moves them to the next question on the next page. I've figured out how to do all of this manually, but I'm sure I'm doing it the most absolutely dumb way ever (I'm a graduate student who has never used Filemaker before and I have a hunch that each question really shouldn't need it's own separate layout - really, it's ok to laugh). Any help would be very much appreciated by everyone in my lab. Think of your advice as a contribution to science.

Cheers-

Johanna

FileMaker Version: 7

Platform: Mac OS X Jaguar

Welcome Johanna,

An easy way is to have 2 files: Question and Answer. The Question file has one record for each question, you should include fields Question Text and Question Number (numbered from 1 to whatever.) Then in the Answer file, have a Question Number field, and an Answer field. Create a relationship in Answer to the Question file based on Question Number.

On a form layout in the Answer file, insert the related Question Text field, with space for even the longest question.

Make a script that will (1. create a new record in Answer for each new question that your subject is answering. (2. Set the correct question number.

In the Answer file, you will also need some way to know which records are from the same person. Make sure your scripting takes this into account.

Johanna: