Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Date and Report question

This topic is 7316 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello everybody,

For a friend I made a simple and ugly database (I will make a nice interface later). My problem is that he needs to track the customers who have not paid the whole bill after 30 days. As you can see in my file in layout#1 and you push the red LP button you will get a list of the customers who didn't pay everything but even the customers who came yesterday. What also would be nice is a total of the bills who are not paid within the 30 days, the total of the Late Payments report. I have searched the whole weekend at this forum and also in the Filemaker pro bible but I could not find the solution. I have tried a lot but no result. I am sure it is a basic thing but for some reason I don't see it.

Probably this is so simple and that is why I cannot find the solution in all these resources but I am an absolute beginner and my friend cannot wait to start to use this database. So who can help me?

Thanks in advance,

Bob

FileMaker Version: 5

Platform: Windows XP

Borad.zip

Usually this type of system is handled in two or three tables. One for the Customer, one for Invoices, and one for Payments (Invoices and Payments could be in the same table, just accessed through two different relationships.)

A Customer can have many Invoices and many Payments. Invoices add to their Balance Due, Payments reduce the Balance Due. Balance Due is calculated or scripted in the Customer table. Each Invoice and Payment has a Date.

Getting the total Balance Due is pretty easy. But finding Balance Due Over 30 Days can be a bit more tricky. It depends on the dates and amounts of the Invoices and the Payments.

• Newbies

Hello,