Server Maintenance This Week. ×

students parental data

This topic is 7299 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I am very new to FileMaker. I am creating a database for a middle school, and am struggling with how and where to store students' parental data. Students data is simply FirstName, LastName, MI. Parental data includes FirstName, LastName, StreetAddress, City, State, Zip, DayPhone, EvePhone, CellPhone, email, etc.

Of course a student may have more than one parent. Parent may or may not share the same last name, address, phone, cell phone, etc. Also one or more parents can have one or more children (students). One child in a household may have a different combination of parental contacts than her sibling.

The data will be used to 1) look up a student's parental contact info, 2) create form letters and mailing labels to parents.

For looking up contact info it seems I could just make Parent1 and Parent2 data a part of the student record.

But for creating form letters/mailing labels I'm wondering if there should be

1) a table of parental info where each record holds two parents' info

2) a table of parental info where each record holds one parent's info

For either of these last two options it seems I would have to build a third table that would tie together students and parents. It also seems then I would have to have some sort of script to create form letters and mailing labels. Is this correct? Are there scripts out there for this kind of thing?

Would I be making my database too unwieldy by breaking up the students and parents?

I'd appreciate any help you might have for database structure and scripting.

Chris

I have created a similar type database for my church. I used a file for Family (Household) and another for Individuals. The Family file contains the Family ID, Family Name (last), Address, etc. A portal shows all the member (Indivduals) of this Family.