Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Status Bar?

This topic is 7288 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Can custom functions replace multiple calculations? And then just adjust if used within each table? Here's what I need:

I have a status bar at the top of every layout. This shows people certain things. It contains AccountName, Layoutname (I name the layouts to a specific task so it can be used to write to the window name also), Record indicator (record 6 of 144 found or total), the sort status (sorted or unsorted - if semi-sorted it displays unsorted).

I am just beginning to put this together and I'm already tired. crazy.gif

So already in one table I have four calculations all using Get (plus other things). And I change color of Account Name if their Privilege is Manager. And if it's a Found set, I turn the "Found" to blue and if unsorted I turn 'Unsorted' to red. And other things...

But I'm going to have to repeat this through all my tables, right? Unless I can somehow use Custom Function. Maybe create a 'STATUSBAR' function that just knows to work on each table. Then I could just have ONE calculation in each table that knows to use the current table information.

And it would need to not require a value (?) because I wouldn't know what field name to put inside it. Is this even possible? I can go into more detail if its possible but I just want to know if it could be done first. Thank you.

Linda

Custom functions can use Get() functions, access globals, and access fields if you pass them in as parameters. They are in the same "context" as the calculation / script they are called from.

It sounds like the definition would look like:

StatusBar() defined as: <your current calculation>