Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Dynamic Updating and Storage of Value Lists

This topic is 7257 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello Everyone and Anyone,

I am a newbie to FileMaker and I am a little lost with value lists. I believe what I am trying to do is simple, but the explanation is not. So, I will do my best.

I am creating a template data entry interface for scouting football games. Each game will be a database in and of itself. Each play(record) in the game entered has a set of fields like down, distance, hash, formation, etc. I would like to have formation be a pop-up list that dynamically updates as new formations are scouted. The new formation is then added to the value list and can be selected when it appears in the game again. I have gotton this far, but I run into trouble when I save and clear the database to scout the next game, my value lists are empty. I would like to create a "master" value list for each field in a "Master" value database. So, each week, we can use these pop-up values over and over, thus increasing the accuracy of the data entry while constantly building these lists in the background.

I hope this makes sense.

Thanks a bunch.

One way would be to have your value lists stored in another table that you don't clear out at the end of the game.

By why are you starting with a new empty database every time? I'd want to keep that information so I could make cross-game comparisons and watch for trends, etc. Just add fields for the date and location of the game and then each game has a unique identifier.

Just a thought,

Dan

• Newbies

Thanks for replying Dan,

Storing the list in another table is exactly what I would like to do, but I can't figure out how to get the values to be stored in another table where the pop lists are populated and displayed in the data entry screen part.