One DB + Multiple Projects + Contacts Relationship

esegal

This topic is 7242 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I don't even know where to start searching for this information. I would appreciate being directed to an answer or any help in formulating my own.

Scenario:

I currently have multiple projects (I am a builder) and each project currently has a separate Project DB linked to a single master Contacts DB.

I would like to have one DB that all users can use, where the user selects which project they are woking on and all relationships change to the Project DB and all current and past information is available to the user. They can then switch to another project. This would be to avoid cross contamination of DB's. I also have auto-enter text fields with the project's name, location, and number which would have to change on all the records (cover pages, etc.).

The main reason for this is that as I upgrade features or appearance, I don't want to have to change all the DB's.

Thanks in advance.

If you have a field "Project Type", you can use that to determine which layout to use for each record. A search of open projects might pull up a project list with several different types of projects. Clicking a detail button for a project can then call a script that goes to the correct layout for that project.

Most relationships are probably the same for different project types, but if there are differences, they can be dealt with by using the Project Type as part of the relationship key.

An option: If there is information that is the same for all projects of each project type, you should make a Project Type file that holds records for each project type and their fields. For example, if each project type uses their own return FAX number, you can have that as a field in Project Type.

Ender,