Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Counting, summary and reporting problem.

This topic is 8181 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I suppose this is a pretty simple problem, but I’m a beginner and have some problems with this anyhow.

I have a DB (let’s call it avr.fp5) that handles occurred accidents.

It contains fields like:

Sequence_number: (a unique ID)

Date: (when it happens)

Class: (What type of accident)

Signature: (Who reported)

And some other fields…

What I want to do is to count all unique ocurrences of the field Class and put it into a repeating field. And I also want the Class name in another repeating field.

Example:

Sequence_number Class

12341 Technical

12343 Medical

12344 User

12345 Medical

12349 Medical

12351 User

12352 Medical

I want the result to be stored in the resulting repeating fields like this:

Class_label Class_count

Technical 1

Medical 4

User 2

The number of classes may vary.

The idea is then to use the excellent plug-in xmChart to generate a diagram.

I have tried to make a self-join on the sequence_number-field and I have tried to use the “status flag” for first occurring name but I just can’t get it right.

I can get it to work with a sub-summary report, but since I want the results in chart I need to get the values stored somehow.

If someone can help me with a detailed description I will be most grateful.

Forget the repeating fields. They are too inflexible to do what you want.

Instead, create a related file (call it AVRSummary.fp5) with a Class and ClassCount field. Create a relationship from your original file to the new one based on the class field and select the "allow creation of related records" option. Then, create a reverse relationship from the new file back to the original file based on the same Class field. Set up the ClassCount field as a calculation with this formula:

Count(AVR::Class)