Limiting value list

Davidatlamont

This topic is 7235 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I need help. I have a list of Jobs with corresponding Job Titles. I want to use this field as a value list, HOWEVER I only want displayed as part of pop-up list Titles for Jobs that are not 'completed'.

Completed jobs are flagged as such. Removing these from value list will limit pop-up list to around 30 items, as opposed to several hundred if value list contains ALL jobs.

Can I use the "Include only related values starting from" box to accomplish this.

I'm new to FM so please be specific.

Thanks.

• 2 weeks later...

I have a similar requirement: I want a value list of names of Events whose starting date is still in the future. The Event records from which the value list is generated contain an EventName and a StartingDate; how do I create a value list of EventNames whose StartingDate is greater than today?

I am running FMP6. QuinTech's link is to an example given in FM7, and I don't really follow the explanation. Plus I'm not sure that "related values" will get me the records I want (i.e. whose date is after today).

Thanks for any clues!

Chap

Thanks - I'm part of the way there. I should reiterate that I am using FMP6, not 7, and some of the info in this thread seems to be FMP7-centric.

I created a calc. field (EventFuture) in each Events record which is 0 if StartingDate is less than today, and 1 if StartingDate is greater than or equal to today. That is the "completed flag" you mentioned.

I'm still stumped by how to define a Value List consisting solely of EventNames from Event records whose EventFuture is 1. When I specify the field to use for the value list, I guess I should use "Only Related Values" and specify a self-relationship between Event::EventFuture and Event::c_One (a calc field that evaluates to 1).