Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Should I separate this data?

This topic is 7153 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi,

I'm using FMPro 7 to build a simple accounting system for my business (I'm a photographer). I have 5 bank accounts in 3 currencies to cater for and my accountant has asked me to make it effective for 'double entry' accounting.

I have a table for debit and another for credits and yet another for 'position at bank' (the 'starting point' for bank balance calcs).

I will need to produce reports for my accountant, with a running balance of my bank accounts and it would seem best to me that they be date sorted with debits and credits intermingled as and when they happen and with the corresponding bank balances calculated and displayed. I envisage all the currencies being mixed in a single report (but obviously should it be useful, they could be separated using Finds).

My question is ;

Is it better to have a separate table for each bank account, which would include both credit and debit records for that account?

or

Should I have everything in a single table, all bank accounts and all debits and credits?

or

Should I use just 2 tables : i.e. all the credits, from all 5 bank accounts, in one table and all the debits, from all 5 bank accounts, in another?

Any help will be much much appreciated ... I seem to be spending a huge amount of time going round in circles, unable to decide how I *should* be doing this and consequently wasting time doing work I'm not going to use frown.gif

Many thanks,

Grant